About us

Medical ethics is well established in many German universities, is part of the medical curriculum and, with the Academy for Ethics in Medicine (AEM), has been a closely organized specialist society for more than 30 years. As an interdisciplinary field, it opens up career options for young scientists from various subjects in the humanities and in the life, social, and cultural sciences. Both the variety of topics and the methodological approaches cut across classic technical and faculty structures.

 

The interdisciplinary focus of medical ethics makes our subject appealing, but at the same time it presents a special challenge for young scientists. To date, there are hardly any dedicated university courses in the field of medical ethics. Young researchers mostly find their professional path into medical ethics through a degree outside the field. For many young scientists, a doctorate and/or research activity in the comparatively small discipline of medical ethics means that they have trouble returning to their original field of expertise. This significantly reduces long-term perspectives in scientific research and teaching. The professional and methodological interdisciplinarity of medical ethics also represents a particular disciplinary challenge for researchers.

 

In order to address these characteristics of the discipline, the “Young Medical Ethics Network” (JMED) seeks to offer young researchers in the field of medical ethics a platform. We would like to contribute to the disciplinary and methodological exchange, professional development, and networking of young medical ethicists. Here, it is not just a matter of developing a better understanding of medical ethics; rather, our research topics, possible careers, and university experience should also be discussed.

 

The Young Medical Ethics Network strives to promote research- and subject-specific discussions, as well as the opportunity for career development under the guidance of professional trainers. It is aimed at post-doctoral and advanced doctoral researchers in the field of medical ethics or those more generally whose research focus examines norms within the life sciences, health care, medicine, and nursing. This includes such different specialist and sub-fields as bioethics, philosophy, medical sociology, medical humanities, medical law, theology, nursing sciences, public health, etc.

Information material

ÜBER UNS

Das Netzwerk "Junge Medizinethik"

 

Die Medizinethik ist an vielen deutschen Universitäten institutionell fest verankert, Bestandteil des medizinischen Curriculums und verfügt mit der AEM seit mehr als 30 Jahren über eine dicht organisierte Fachgesellschaft. Als Querschnittsbereich öffnet sie dem wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs aus verschiedenen Fächern der Lebens-, Geistes-, Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften berufliche Optionen. Sowohl die Themenvielfalt als auch die methodischen Zugänge brechen klassische fachliche und fakultäre Strukturen auf.

 

Die interdisziplinäre Ausrichtung der Medizinethik macht zum einen den Reiz unseres Faches aus, stellt für Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen aber zugleich eine besondere Herausforderung dar. Für den Bereich Medizinethik werden bisher kaum in sich abgeschlossene universitäre Studiengänge angeboten. Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen finden den beruflichen Weg in die Medizinethik zumeist über einen „fachfremden“ Studienabschluss. Eine Promotion und/oder mehrjährige Forschungstätigkeit in dem vergleichsweise kleinen Fach der Medizinethik bedeutet für viele Nachwuchswissenschafter*innen, dass Ihnen die berufliche Rückkehr in ihr ursprüngliches Studienfach erschwert wird. Eine langfristige Perspektive in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung und Lehre wird hierdurch deutlich geschmälert. Auch stellt gerade die fachliche und methodische Interdisziplinarität der Medizinethik für Forschende eine besondere fachliche Herausforderung dar.

 

Um diese Besonderheiten des Faches zu adressieren, möchte das „Netzwerk Junge Medizinethik“ Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen im Bereich der Medizinethik eine Plattform bieten. Wir möchten zum fachlichen und methodischen Austausch, zur Weiterqualifikation und zur Vernetzung der jungen Medizinethiker*innen beitragen. Dabei geht es nicht nur um die Verständigung über das Fach der Medizinethik; vielmehr sollen auch unsere Forschungsthemen, mögliche Berufswege und universitäre Erfahrungen diskutiert werden.

 

Das Netzwerk Junge Medizinethik strebt eine forschungs- und fachbezogene Diskussion an, ebenso wie die Möglichkeit zur Weiterqualifikation unter der Leitung von professionellen Trainer*innen. Es richtet sich an Post-Doktorand*innen und fortgeschrittene Doktorand*innen, die im Bereich der Medizinethik forschen oder allgemein einen wissenschaftlichen Forschungsschwerpunkt in der Erforschung und Reflexion der Normen innerhalb der Lebenswissenschaften, des Gesundheitswesens, der Medizin und Pflege haben. Hierunter lassen sich so unterschiedliche Fach- und Teilgebiete wie die Bioethik, Philosophie, Medizinsoziologie, Medical Humanities, Medizinrecht, Theologie, Pflegewissenschaften, Public Health usf. zählen.

Informationsmaterial